Jump to content
Monthly Subscriptions Are Here Read more... ×
mydigitalbubble

Delete multiple offline /old devices

Recommended Posts

mydigitalbubble

Please, please can we have a more friendly / practical way to delete old devices.

At the moment the only practical option is to remove old devices from the inventory individually from a devices main info page.

 

The alternative - selecting the 'Offline' filter and then 'delete all offline devices' really isn't a practical solution as it requires all the devices you want to keep to be available, onsite and powered up - this is seldom, if ever, practical in any of our deployments - especially for mobile devices of any type.

 

The solution seems straightforward for both webapp and mobile app;

You already have a multi-item selection checkbox option, please can you add a 'delete device' option to the 'actions' list.

Follow this with a summary of number of items to be removed with confirmation button. Job done.

 

Hopefully an easy to implement improvement?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Giancarlo
1 hour ago, mydigitalbubble said:

Please, please can we have a more friendly / practical way to delete old devices.

At the moment the only practical option is to remove old devices from the inventory individually from a devices main info page.

 

The alternative - selecting the 'Offline' filter and then 'delete all offline devices' really isn't a practical solution as it requires all the devices you want to keep to be available, onsite and powered up - this is seldom, if ever, practical in any of our deployments - especially for mobile devices of any type.

 

The solution seems straightforward for both webapp and mobile app;

You already have a multi-item selection checkbox option, please can you add a 'delete device' option to the 'actions' list.

Follow this with a summary of number of items to be removed with confirmation button. Job done.

 

Hopefully an easy to implement improvement?

 

 

 

This feature request make sense. We had this already in our roadmap, and I've just added yourself to the list of requester, and raised the priority.

 

In any case, please note that if you delete ALL OFFLINE DEVICE, as soon as one of those devices come back online, it comes back with the same "customizations" you did already. For example, if you delete a Sonos which you named "Sonos Room A", and set Location "Room A" and also configured some alerts on top of it, as soon as it comes back online after having removed it, it will reappear with the same configuration (  "Sonos Room A", with location "Room A" and alerts configured). I hope this helps in the short term.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
mydigitalbubble

Hi Giancarlo,

 

Thanks for such a prompt update.

Really good to hear this is on roadmap and to understand that deleting all offline devices doesn't remove any of the customisations and that they restore when the device re-appears. My only concern about using this option is the effect on the customer's Violet app - and the perception of the customer when family devices  (not switched on) disappear from view.

thanks again,

Jamie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Giancarlo
16 hours ago, mydigitalbubble said:

My only concern about using this option is the effect on the customer's Violet app - and the perception of the customer when family devices  (not switched on) disappear from view.

 

This is a true concern and I understand that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×